The Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe awarded the Carlos V European Award


...and DESTINATION NAPOLEON is one of them!


CarlosVThe Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe programme is the 2019 recipient of the "Carlos V European Award" , which honours people, organisations, projects or initiatives that contribute “to the enhancement of Europe’s cultural and historical values”.

For the first time the Carlos V European prize is awarded to a European programme. The winners of previous editions of the award were Antonio Tajani, Marcelino Oreja, Sofia Corradi, José Manuel Durão Barroso, Javier Solana, Simone Veil, Helmut Kohl, Jorge Sampaio, Mikhael Gorbachev, Felipe González, Wilfried Martens and Jacques Delors.

The award is delivered every year by the European and Ibero-American Academy of Yuste Foundation during a ceremony on 9 May, on the occasion of Europe Day, presided over by His Majesty the King of Spain at the Royal Monastery of Yuste.

Since 1987, the Cultural Routes programme demonstrates, by means of a journey through space and time, how Council of Europe member States share a common cultural heritage. As of today, the Council of Europe has certified 33 Cultural Routes in the fields of arts, architecture, music, literature, and landscape.

« Destination Napoleon » : un nouvel Itinéraire Culturel Européen reconnu par le Conseil de l’Europe. Pour faire vivre l’histoire … dans le futur.

Logo ICE Kombi_neu